Woodnet Forums

Full Version: How would you build this table base?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys,

I've got a nice 9' long piece of 8/4 X 6" figured cherry with a sap edge I've been sitting on for years. I want to use it to build a glass top coffee table so you can see the wood through the table top. I'm gonna keep that part pretty simple but I want to do an arched base for it, as shown in the pictures below.

I'm still learning to use Scketchup so the model is crude but hopefully it shows what I have in mind right now. It's basically laminating together layers of 3/4" plywood or MDF to get a 2.5" thick base then cover it with some nice figured veneer.

What I'm thinking right now is I would make a long pivot out of 1/4" MDF to cut the first inner and outer radius with my router and a spiral bit. Then cut the remaining pieces roughly with a jigsaw and finish them with the router and a flush cut bit to perfectly match the first piece I cut.

I could make another jig to make holes with my little drill press in exactly the same place on each piece then use wood dowel to help align during glue-up.

But I'd really like to hear any ideas for making it easier. I'm fairly limited on big power tools. Table saw is just a portable Dewalt. No bandsaw unless I haul stuff 100 miles to borrow from my step-dad. I do have a decent router table with a fence.

Thanks a ton in advance for any help

-Chris

Here are a couple views of the table model and a shot of the cherry I plan to use for the cross beams.

You could make the curve with multiple layers of bending plywood. I made a curved door for a cabinet with it but used my vacuum bag during the glue up. It could get costly for you to do that, though, since it seems like you'll need ~60" of material to make that curve so you'll end up with waste.