Woodnet Forums

Full Version: Forstner Bits
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Not that I use them a lot, but I have found a fair amount of difference in quality and performance with forstner bits I have bought and used in the past.  I am going to make a few pepper mills so I need some sizable forstner bits (1 5/8"; 1 1/16") and an extension.  I am looking for bits that are sharp and clear a lot of material.  I am a hobbyist woodworker for years, but I am new to wood turning.  I thought this forum may be a good source for suggestions on forstner bits.  I am ok to spend a little more for better quality.  Thanks in advance for any suggestions you may offer.
Lee Valley tools are good quality at reasonable prices

https://www.leevalley.com/en-us/shop/too...tooth-bits

Gary
fptahoe,

End grain is tough to drill, you want the best bits you can afford.

By most accounts/reviews the Fisch Wave Cutter forstner bits are great. I don't own any but they are absolutely on my "to buy" list when I need a great bit. The reviews that I have read claim the bits stay sharp for a long time. The only complaint I have seen is "they look hard/impossible to sharpen".

Woodcraft caries them, but your favorite search engine will lead you to other sources.

Oh, and find a chart with drill speeds by size of hole to drill. Any bit will last longer if you use the proper speed for the hole size.

Good luck.

TonyC
Check out carbide forstner bits, they will  IMO do better than steel in most every situation I've used them in.  They can be pricey in some of the larger sizes but quality costs money.
I bought a 16 pc carbide hex shank set from Grizzly.  I really like them, stay sharp. great for drill press and on the lathe. Not for hand held drills.