Woodnet Forums
looking for New RO sander - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: looking for New RO sander (/showthread.php?tid=7346398)

Pages: 1 2 3 4

looking for New RO sander - Dark Thunder - 02-12-2019

I am looking for a new RO sander I have a Milwaukee right now.  Every time i use it ( sometimes only 1 hours use) i have to replace the brake pad so the sanding pad dose not spin  at a high rate of speed.   Are there any sanders out there that uses a different breaking system.  Im tired of the high price of consumables for this sander to keep running.

RE: looking for New RO sander - jteneyck - 02-12-2019

IMHO the best bang for your buck in a low vibration sander is the Bosch ROS65VC.  About half the price of anything else in its class.  I've been using one for about 4 or 5 years now with absolutely no issues.  

John

RE: looking for New RO sander - SteveS - 02-12-2019

My preference is for the Bosch variable speed sanders. I've owned two of the 5" disc models and they work quite well.

RE: looking for New RO sander - fredhargis - 02-13-2019

You probably don't need another endorsement, but I also favor the Bosch brand.

RE: looking for New RO sander - shoottmx - 02-13-2019

Bosch. 2 3 4 5 6 7

g

RE: looking for New RO sander - Cooler - 02-13-2019

I have a Rigid from Home Depot.  Inexpensive.  Impressive dust collection and on the highest setting, very agressive stock removal.

My only complaints are that the "soft start" takes so long that I wonder if it is actually on (probably approaching a full second to start).  And the disc seems to run forever after I turn it off.  I usually  use a piece of wood to stop the disc.

I would buy it again.  It has proved to be reliable and aggressive on the high setting (which I  would rarely use as it is too aggressive).  The dust collection will also attach directly to the shop vac.

RE: looking for New RO sander - CARYinWA - 02-13-2019