Woodnet Forums
Problems with Glueup - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: Problems with Glueup (/showthread.php?tid=7346809)

Problems with Glueup - cantcforest - 03-03-2019

I have a dozen glue ups made from the end cuts of walnut board.  It seems that I usually have the same problem turning these.
After using a band saw to round up the blocks, and roughing the blocks into a round, the end grain has obvious tear-out.  However, even though the rough sawn edges are gone, the skew chisel bounces while being used smoothing.  Even though most of the tear-out is gone, the block apparently isn't really round...or the harder grain causes the chisel to bounce.  Ideas?
Although I've been turning for twenty years, I haven't really improved my technique through experience.  Tool sharpening is not as good as it should be and the best way to mount a piece is not evident to me.  Maybe the lack of perfectly sharpened tools is a big part of the problem?

RE: Problems with Glueup - MichaelMouse - 03-04-2019

(03-03-2019, 06:07 PM)cantcforest Wrote: I have a dozen glue ups made from the end cuts of walnut board.  It seems that I usually have the same problem turning these.
After using a band saw to round up the blocks, and roughing the blocks into a round, the end grain has obvious tear-out.  However, even though the rough sawn edges are gone, the skew chisel bounces while being used smoothing.  Even though most of the tear-out is gone, the block apparently isn't really round...or the harder grain causes the chisel to bounce.  Ideas?
Although I've been turning for twenty years, I haven't really improved my technique through experience.  Tool sharpening is not as good as it should be and the best way to mount a piece is not evident to me.  Maybe the lack of perfectly sharpened tools is a big part of the problem?

Not sure whether you're talking faceplate or between centers turnings.  Picture, if able, would be nice.