Woodnet Forums
Which tool would you upgrade first? - Printable Version

+- Woodnet Forums (https://www.forums.woodnet.net)
+-- Thread: Which tool would you upgrade first? (/showthread.php?tid=7348576)

Pages: 1 2 3

Which tool would you upgrade first? - nocrapman - 06-03-2019

Getting the itch for a new tool.
I am a hobbyist making furniture/turning for self/family/friends. No income from the woodworking. I am a psychiatrist by profession - This is my therapy.
The three under consideration are an a 6 inch RIDGID jointer, 13 inch RIDGID planer and a 14inch RIKON bandsaw.
They all work fine.
3 options:

1. Get a 15-16 inch planer - more capacity to plane and thickness. But the supermax 18-36 can always sub for now for wider panels

2. Upgrade to a 8 inch jointer with helical cutters.

3. Upgrade to a serious Italian bandsaw like the MM16 or even the Italian Lagunas. Will likely keep the Rikon for smaller blades.

What do you guys recommend?

RE: Which tool would you upgrade first? - DFJarvie - 06-03-2019

If you do turning the bandsaw would no 1. To be able to prepare blanks especially if you get logs from trees. The chain saw only gets them so round.

The jointer would be next then the planer.

RE: Which tool would you upgrade first? - Woodenfish - 06-03-2019

You’re a psychiatrist, buy them all. My bill is in the mail.

RE: Which tool would you upgrade first? - chips ahoy - 06-03-2019

Oneway lathe and some chucks.

Mel

RE: Which tool would you upgrade first? - WoodCzech - 06-03-2019

I have similar to what you have. The 6-inch Rigid jointer, 13 inch DeWalt planer and a 14-inch Grizzly bandsaw.  By far the most issues I hit due to the machine size are with the jointer, so that's what would upgrade.

RE: Which tool would you upgrade first? - Admiral - 06-03-2019

Bandsaw, hands down. Most versatile power tool out there.

RE: Which tool would you upgrade first? - shoottmx - 06-03-2019