Chisel Handles: Minimum Complement of Tools Required
I've got the mini lathe. I am new to turning, and am wondering what the MINIMUM complement of tools is required to turn custom handles, and get good results. I've have and can use(barely) a roughing gouge, I assume that would be the first tool required. What else would be needed? How about EasyWood scrapers: might this do the trick (and would I need all three: rougher/finisher/detailer)? Thanks
You'll probably get as many answers as there are turners, but this is what I use.

Any gouge to get it round and to rough shape. A skew for final shaping. A parting tool to cut it off from the waste. If you have the basic set from HF or Penn State that most of us start with you are good to go.
what Badwhiskey said,you can do a lot with those tools.Master them first doing spindle work.When you get to bowls,get a bowl gouge.

Mel
ABC(Anything But Crapsman)club member
If given a rough piece of wood and told to make a handle for a chisel using only one tool, I'd pick the skew. This isn't for the feint of heart though - the skew can be your best friend or worst enemy, sometimes both at the same time. If you're not familiar/good/comfortable with turning tools, you could probably do everything you need to with a spindle gouge. Making details & burn lines would be rather difficult, but it could be done. (Heck, you could take a chisel and use that to make the starting groove for a burn wire.)
"I'm glad being trapped in the woods hunted by an insane militia made you ask the big life questions."

Check out my Project Blog
At least one other recognizes the value of the basic turning set. They usually contain a couple of gouges, useful for coves, a skew or two for planing, a parting tool and a couple of scrapers of the non-insert type. Cheap, too.