What size skew to start?
I've been turning off and on for a few years - mostly bowls but some spindles - and have never tried a skew. Its time to take the plunge. What size do you all think is the most useful for a new skew user?
Thanks.
Really depends upon size of spindles you turn, recommend ½” for small & ¾” for larger. Mo-better if get both sizes to start!

My skews run from ¼” to 1 ¼” and used them all on various spindle work.

Just find plenty of scrap wood to practice on.
Bill
Thanks. I'll probably will do some tapered chair/stool legs to get started. Nothing fancy - just a straight taper.
I've probably watched a hundred Intro to the skew videos to see if I can figure out what I'm doing wrong. I'll let you know if I find one that works

It seems like everyone has a different opinion. One school of thought that stuck with me is that you want to engage the wood at about the bottom third of the edge. 1/3 of a 1/2" blade is a very very small amount of material, so a large skew is likely easier to find the sweet spot. This rule of thumb has had me sticking with at least a 1" skew. I can't say it works for everyone, but it has seemed to helped me out.
I have and use both sizes of the Alan Lacer signature skews (both in the 2030 alloy) and an assortment of others.

I mainly use the large Lacer skew and a 1" shew that has the traditional grind. I have a Sorby micro skew that mainly gets used as a drop-nose scraper for fine tuning dovetails to go into the chuck.

I like the flat-sided skews as opposed to the the oval cross-section ones. They are much easier to sharpen and MUCH easier to use when you are using it with the long edge down.