Walnut hand tool cabinet build along
I started work on my hand tool cabinet. I thought I would post some pics as I go. I am an extremely average woodworker and a slightly less than average photographer. So this won't be magazine quality, but should be fun anyway.

I got the lumber milled up last night and hope to get the sides, top and bottom cut to size tonight so I can start on the dovetails.

Rough cut to size, ready for the planer:

I will explain the chalk marks below:

And since it is a hand tool cabinet, I figure I better use a few hand tools along the way. Here I am flattening the faces after skip planning the boards.

Regarding the chalk marks on the sides of the boards in the second pic, I want to have the doors and sides grain match up. So I cut them out of one wider board. The sides will be 5-1/2" deep and the doors will be 3" deep. So I marked the edges of both sides pieces with the outside door sides so I can make sure to keep them together. (This may make more sense later)

More pics coming soon...
If it wasn't for last minute, nothing would get done.

Visit my site for project pics and videos: dlgwoodwork.com
Nice!

As one who voted for the walnut, I am glad you are writing this up as a build along.

The chalk marks make sense.
Ain't nothin' better than a tool cabinet build thread
Good judgement is the product of experience.
Experience is the product of poor judgement.
Gotta love a build thread, thanks for sharing
Worst thing they can do is cook ya and eat ya

GW
Dovetails are under way. I had some pens to turn and other few items slow me down but I'm back to work on it for now. I hope to make some progress each week. But life sometimes has other plans.

And my little shop helper wanted to learn how to saw dovetails too.

This project will progress quickly, I believe. After all, you have help!

I'll bet she helps keep you focused on your shop tasks, with her level of interest.

Dave