A Watch Box (finished with pics)
I rarely make things that are solely for ME.
I have been acquiring wrist watches for several years. This year i went looking for a proper box to put my "collection" in. I couldn't find anything i would even remotely consider buying. Commercial boxes were either outright trash, or they just weren't a satisfying configuration. Eventually, i realized i should just make myself one.

I wanted to make something ostentatious yet intimate.
I normally make large scale furniture....beds, chests, etc.
I really enjoy inlay, veneering, and finishing. Details are my favorite part of woodworking. As a result, this was pretty fun to make.

The box is constructed from many woods including:
-curly Honduran mahogany (shop sawn 1/8" veneer)
-Gabon ebony
-Holly (in shop made inlays)
-Crotch Mahogany veneer (1/42 veneer)
-Baltic Birch ply

The medallion is a commercial medallion from Digitalwood.
It is called Aldebaran.
The medallion includes:
-purpleheart
-wenge
-bubinga
-Doug Fir
-Walnut

The hardware is Brusso except for the lock. It is a gold plated humidor lock.

The finish is Nitrocellulose lacquer (Behlen's Qualalac). The outside is gloss and the inside is satin.

The box holds 12 watches, 11 pens, assorted pocket knives, rings, watch straps, and watch tools.

Yes i realize this is a handy carrying case should a thief chose to come in my home. I choose not to concern myself with such thoughts...that's what insurance riders are for.

I am quite pleased with the outcome.
This is as close to perfect as i can do.

I find it incredibly difficult to photograph curl on a gloss piece. This photo shows the mahogany in all of its splendor.

-Wayne

Close to perfect?

PERFECT!!!!

[Image: usa-flag-waving-united-states-of-america...if-clr.gif]
Woah!!! Outstanding! That box is absolutely beautiful, and you hit your goal of being ostentatious.
There are two kinds of people: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data.