Load Center questions
JackW's thread got me thinking, becuase I'll be looking to buy a load center for my workshop soon.

1) NEC requires the main breaker to be within 6' 6" from grade. If the panel is upside down, does that 6' 6" then apply to the highest branch breaker?

2) Is there a lower limit to the height a panel can be set in a wall? In other words, can you set it at knee height?

3) Jack mentioned Square D QO. Innerweb has mixed reviews on almost every brand out there. I know I want copper bus bars and a ground I can un-bond from the neutral; but I have no brand knowledge. Looking at 100A main breaker with as many slots as I can get. Any brand recommendations?
Shame on the men who can court exemption from present trouble and expense at the price of their own posterity's liberty! - Samuel Adams
1) would have to look that one up. Don't remember. Are you wanting to bottom feed the panel. If you are using aluminum it's way easier than wrestling the bends in the wire to top feed it.

2) never seen a low height requirement. Many of the commercial panels I put in will have the bottom of the can 8" to 10" off the floor to keep the top of the panel under the ceiling height.

I am liking the GE panels for home and shop. Copper buss, neutral bars on both sides or can be split to be a neutral and ground bar. They use a thick breaker not the thin ones. Very similar breaker to other brands. 200 amp panel kit can be had for around $100 with 20 or so breakers.

I haven't used the Q much as we use siemens and eaton for commercial. I prefer the siemens as the panel kits for some of the eatons are a pita.
Honestly all the panels will work fine and last a long time. Just different quirks to all of them.