Advice on repairing white oak
A project for our homeowners association library bookcases netted some free quartersawn white oak, but as you can see in the pictures, the imperfections are glaring. I'm torn between using what I was given or buying new (a three-hour round trip plus my own money).

I got some epoxy to fill with, but I've never done this before. One of the knots (2nd image) goes clear through the 3/4" stock.

What am I in for, and what would you recommend?

Danno

Creston Wood
I guess it depends on what you are building. Epoxy will work to glue the check, but if you are going to stain, the epoxy will not take the stain.
Jim
http://ancorayachtservice.com/ home of the Chain Leg Vise.
Much of that oak is not quartersawn.
I'd use the sound portions of the lumber, cut out the bad portions.
These look like typical flaws that I have repaired with epoxy and have have had real good results using oil based gel stain over the epoxy. Adding a small amount of sanding dust to the epoxy also helps. Too much quickly makes it too dark. It works especially well for knots which are a lot darker anyway.
We repair similar defects daily in the process of prepping our live edge slabs.
For the holes, simply use epoxy with black colorants. Since you can't hide them, make them obvious. We do this all the time with no problems.

For the crack shown in your first picture: This defect is usually caused by kiln drying damage and penetrates deeply. You could be pouring epoxy down that crack all day. Here's what we do:
1. Slice a thin wedge on the bandsaw, angling the wood so that the grain that shows will match the wood.
2. Drive the wedge under and into the crack, i.e. going diagonally into the wood.
3. Go to any store that sells artist supplies and ask for Mixol pigments, they mix very well with epoxy. Pick the color that most closely matches the final color of the wood (after finishing). These little bottles cost about $6 each.