Powermatic 64B
Hello,

I'm looking to upgrade from a Craftsman contractor table saw to a Powermatic 64B with the 30" rip. I've looked at all major manufactures of saw in this price range and for a few dollars more, the Powermatic looks more impressive.

If anyone has any experience or knowledge on this saw, I would like to hear them.

Also, I have looked at the PM1000 with the 30" rip, but its $400 more.

I am a hobbist. I build bee hives and bird houses/feeders. I do not do this for a living.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated.

TIA
I bought my 64A with a 30" fence in 2006. Two weeks ago I went to the L. L. Johnson's Lumber Wood Expo in Charlotte Michigan and while there looked over the 64B for the first time. If I did not have my 64A, I would buy the B in a heartbeat. With the upgrades of the 1-3/4 H.P. side mount motor, riving knife and dust collection, this saw is hard to beat. I did a lot of research when I bought my saw and I have been very happy with the Powermatic.
Brian
Shop power by Powermatic, Shopsmith, Delta & Bosch.
I had a 64A until I restored my 66. The 64A is a very good saw and it handled everything I gave it. Dust collection was my biggest reason to change. If they have that figured out then I'd say no hesitation.

Doug
I really don't think the Powermatic 64B is any credible upgrade from your Craftsman contractor saw. What is your issue with your saw?

You could add a better fence to your Craftsman and be done with it. For the cost of the 64B, I bet you can get into a real cabinet saw from Grizzly which would offer better dust collection for starters.
The miter track is about 3/32 out to the blade. No problem, I can adjust my Incra miter gauge to compensate (had to use a die grinder to remove the lip for a real miter gauge to fit). Next, there is no way to create a zero clearance insert. It has a removable panel for cross cut/ripping and another for dados. The top is aluminum.