Rusty Chisels
Last year, as a novice woodworker, I wanted to get a few good chisels. Narex gets good reviews, so that's what I got. Most of this summer has been spent on carpentry, so the shop chisels remained in the drawer. Today, as I pulled them out, I was surprised to find them pocked with rust areas, including the finely honed edge.
Was I supposed to know to oil them before putting them in the drawer? (Lots of high humidity in northern Illinois.). How do you store your chisels?
--Peter
I don't know if everyone has a woobie, but they are a venerable old shop rag semi soaked in whatever oil you embrace for hand tools. I like Camellia oil. I store my better tools (those I fret over if they rust) inside slightly oiled tube socks I buy on the cheap at flea markets for pennies a pair. I also keep those better tools inside a wooden tool chest. I check them twice a year and give them a light rub to re-oil them, and back they go. I also rub them well after use, and return them immediately to their sock. I am in SW Ohio, and we have wicked fluctuating humidity levels here throughout the year, sometimes into the high 90% range.

The only ones where I couldn't keep the rust off were the LN socket chisels, but I don't have any of them anymore. Not sure why, others don't seem to have a problem with them, but I sure did. For reference I have a few Blue Spruce, and LV PM-V11 chisels, and by far they are almost rust proof. YMMV
Worst thing they can do is cook ya and eat ya

GW
I'm pretty much the opposite (though both approaches work). I leave them out in their wall racks and let them breath. I suppose however that the main benefit to this is that you see them from time to time and know what's going on, so you can tend to them while problem is small.

Ditto on the oily rag (with sensible precautions to prevent spontaneous combustion). Wiping dust and fingerprints off of them is a must!