Garage door replacement options
"Funny you mention making it two doors instead of one big one..."

I thought that wide doors are susceptible to wind damage. I see what you mean about width-my GMC truck just makes it in. Our Ford Fusion has no issues. On all of that I am not an expert.
Paul from the beautiful mid-coast of Maine (USA)
Robert Adams said:

Funny you mention making it two doors instead of one big one... Our garage has two 7'6" tall by 9' wide doors. I hate it. One door is barely wide enough to get a car through. I'm seriously thinking about taking it all out putting a new beam across and going with one door. Might even drop the opening to the standard 7' but not sure how to make up the gap above and have it look right (brick house).

My garage door is 18' wide, like many of the older (2010) homes in the neighborhood. You can see the sag in the header on every one of them. New builder is using two doors on nearly all of what he's putting up now. Not sure if that means anything or not, but I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one bothered by the little sag...
KC said:

[blockquote]Robert Adams said:

Funny you mention making it two doors instead of one big one... Our garage has two 7'6" tall by 9' wide doors. I hate it. One door is barely wide enough to get a car through. I'm seriously thinking about taking it all out putting a new beam across and going with one door. Might even drop the opening to the standard 7' but not sure how to make up the gap above and have it look right (brick house).

My garage door is 18' wide, like many of the older (2010) homes in the neighborhood. You can see the sag in the header on every one of them. New builder is using two doors on nearly all of what he's putting up now. Not sure if that means anything or not, but I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one bothered by the little sag...

[/blockquote]

That's a result of poor framing. Splitting it up into two doors and its a matter of time before you knock off a mirror.