Blanket Chest Dovetail Repair/patch
The Blanket Chest I've been working on is glued to together and this is my first attempt at visible dovetails on a case this wide, 19.25 inches.

That said I have quite a few gaps, no common theme but probably 1/128th wide.

I plan to finish with Watco Danish Oil and Wax, I'm assuming that the gaps will remain after the finishing so how do, or do, I attempt to fix or fill them?

Any advice would be appreciated.
I'm by no means a great woodworker, so take this for what it's worth. I would pare some shavings with a chisel in the type of wood your using and then slip the shavings into the gaps. Leave them proud until the glue dries and then plane them down. This should give you matching end grain and should be almost invisible. HTH
Currently a smarta$$ but hoping to one day graduate to wisea$$
DaveParkis said:

I'm by no means a great woodworker, so take this for what it's worth. I would pare some shavings with a chisel in the type of wood your using and then slip the shavings into the gaps. Leave them proud until the glue dries and then plane them down. This should give you matching end grain and should be almost invisible. HTH

^^^^^^^^^^^^
this
Let us not seek the Republican Answer , or the Democratic answer. Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future  John F. Kennedy 

DaveParkis said:

A variant, assuming your gaps are less than the thickness of a saw kerf: run your dovetail saw down the gap, diagonally from the inside edge to the baseline. This gives you a nice, uniform slot to insert your shim.
Best,
Aram, always learning

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.” Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Web: My woodworking photo site
Thanks for the ideas, I read a fine woodworking article that said to take some of the sanding dust and mix it with some Shellac to make a paste and to fill and sand a few times.