A bridge for my tractor - will it support it?
I have a small stream in my back yard that I need to cross mostly for mowing with my RZT 50 but occasionally I need to get my Kubota B7100 across. The Kubota has a front end loader and the heaviest rear attachment would be my tiller. I'm guessing the total weight would be around 2,000 lbs. My bridge will be six feet wide and twelve feet across. To span this twelve feet I am thinking of treated 2x10's spaced 12" on center with 2x6 decking. Does this sound adequate to support the tractor and implements? Thanks
I'm not an engineer but I'm going to say "no."

Your load from the tractor is not evenly distributed, there is more load concentrated over the wheels. Some load will transfer to the interior joists but the outside joists neat the wheels are going to take the brunt of it.

I'm guessing some engineer type will be along shortly but I think you're going to need something more robust.
"Links to news stories don’t cut it."  MsNomer 3/2/24
This calculator says that should be OK. Your live load is only 28 psf and your design should handle 50 with no problem.

John
Without running calculations, I would definitely double (at least) up joists at the wheelpaths and make sure you use a good bridging method to tie the assembly together... You might want to allow for a full loader bucket in your weight calculations, along with the largest combination of driver/passenger(s)...
No, this is a very bad idea.

Were it me, I would use an old semi trailer set on concrete piers with railroad ties on top for the decking.
Mike

Non impediti ratione cogitationis
brianwelch said:

Without running calculations, I would definitely double (at least) up joists at the wheelpaths and make sure you use a good bridging method to tie the assembly together... You might want to allow for a full loader bucket in your weight calculations, along with the largest combination of driver/passenger(s)...