Newb questions about a Craftsman (Atlas) 101.06242 Lathe
Hi all,

Firstly, I'm a complete and total newbie into the world of lathes and turning.

I've been looking for an old smallish lathe for a while and snatched this up last month:

It'll get it cleaned up and mounted to a sturdy stand. I've got a 1/2hp 3 phase motor that I will use with a VFC to control the speed. I've got a similar setup on a drill press and it works great.

Anyway, the silly questions:

1) Does anyone know what the taper in the tailstock is on these? It's got a dead center and I want to get a live taper and a drill chuck.

2) I want to get a three (four?) jaw chuck to mount on the headstock. Any recomendations on a reasonably priced (~$100) chuck? The Oneway Talons are lovely, but spendy.

3) Similarly, any recommendations on good valued chisels?

I found the Wood Turners Workshop and will be reading feverishly,

Thanks for your patience.
chris
Here is a manual but it does not give the taper (or even if there is one).
http://vintagemachinery.org/pubs/222/4685.pdf
There are charts online that give the diameter of tapers.

You will want a four jaw chuck.
Tools plus has the Nova G3 for $110 and you will need an insert to fit your lathe.
http://www.tools-plus.com/nova-chucks.html

I purchased some Hurricanes for my daughter and they are holding up well.
http://www.thewoodturningstore.com/categ...ols-4.html
Chris,

As I recall it is a #1 Morse taper. You can measure it with calipers. The large end of a #1 is 0.475" and a #2 MT is 0.7000". Tables are available on the internet. See this web page

I had this model lathe until a few years ago and did a lot of turning on it. It was entirely satisfactory, until I wanted a larger swing. For a lathe this size, the Barracuda chucks from Penn State Industries were fine for my needs and were good value for money as I recall. (You may need a spindle adapter) The headstock spindle is 3/4-16 as I recall (the outboard one is LH thread).