New user. Current project.
Howdy, all. I have been lurking here for quite some time and figured it's time I jumped in on the conversation. Full disclosure...I am in the process of building up my workshop and anticipate needing a ton of help in the future...

In the meantime, thought I'd share my current project and ask a couple of questions.

I am building a built-in storage bench/window seat for some friends. I have most of the bench built and installed (will add some pics next time I go over) and am working on the top. In truth, I am a relative beginner and am figuring some things out as I go. I am working under the assumption that 95% of you would have advised against my methods so far, but it is what it is at this point. Here is where I am right now:

I will take the bench top over in 2 pieces. Here they are put together just to make sure everthing is square and to start cutting the molding for the front:

The top is baltic birch plywood that I cut into equal panels and joined with a 1/4" strip of hardwood between. I thought the hardwood would make the joint a little easier to line up/clean up and maybe add a decorative touch:

I drilled some 1/2" holes (with my new drill press. Yay!) at each joint and inserted some 1/2" dowels. These provide nothing structurally. I really only did it so that I could use them to clamp the joints together during gluing. After the joints are glued, I flush cut them and figure they'll add a little decorative element:

So, first question: A couple of the joints didn't get lined up just right with the hardwood and I am struggling with how to level them. The top will be stained and poly'd, so I need to get it as flat as possible. My fear in just sanding is that I will go through the top veneer of the plywood.

Any suggestions on a way to patch/fill the low spots at the joints? Wood filler? Route a channel at each joint and do an inlay? Thanks in advance for any advice.