Festool Sander
I am going to spring for a Festool finish sander and would like an opinion or two. I am down to the ETS 125, or the ETS EC Brushless 125/3. Looking at the two models, it appears they are the same and have the same characteristics, except that one is brushless and one is not. Since I am a hobbyist and do not expect real heavy use, I am wondering if spending the extra money on the brushless model is worth it for me. Any comments? Thank you as always...FPT.
The two sanders do the same thing and sand and are 5" but they are significantly different than one another...the only thing they share are the Festool name and 5" disc size. If you were talking the 6", then yes, I would say they are similar is performance.

To start, the grip is different on both more upgrright for the ETS vs low profile on the EC, like air sanders.

Next, the ETS 125 has a much weaker 200 watt, 1.67amp motor vs the EC125's brushless 400 watt, 3.33 amp motor, which is the same as the bigger 6" model. This is a big deal if you are going to want efficiency and speed out of your sander.

Also, the ETS has a 2.0mm sanding stroke vs a 3.0mm on the EC. The ETS is more of a ultra fine finishing sander and can do the coarser grits but was more or less designed for higher grits.

Make sure to try them out a dealer and you will get an idea of the differences. Granted, the brushless is basically double the cost, however, there is a bigger leap here in the 5" models vs the 6" non-brushless to brushless.
I would not get the ets 125. It has much less power and to me is really only useful for sanding between finishes. If you decide to go with the ets model go with the 150. I have the 3 stroke model but if I were to do it again I'd probably get the 5.

The EC models, as mentioned, have a different and imo, a more comfortable grip. They also have a feature that automatically shuts off the sander of the vac hose is pulled off.