CA finish vs Hutt Wax finish for pens
I was wondering if there was a advantage and disadvantages of using CA glue as a finish instead of wax on pens. I am a newbie to pens and seems like there is more room for error with CA.
CA is much much harder and also harder to apply. Hut wax is easy to apply and lasts several years depending on everyday use. I used both and like the ease of hut but like the durability of CA if it will be used daily.

Also CA will take some time to learn to apply correctly. I found thru experience not to apply 10 coats but apply 2 coats then sand and apply 2 more sand to 12000 and call it done.
I found to much CA will cause crazing after 4 years or so.

Good luck and I really look forward to seeing what you make.

Arlin
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
The fumes from CA make me steer away from it. It's a nice shiny finish that you won't get from Hutt though.
Jim

If you have dust collection going you will not get but a very very small amount.

Arlin
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

I have used Hutt on other stuff, don't really like it. Wax isn't all that durable.

Capt. Eddie has a video on CA finish on pens. Capt Eddie on youtube
If the pen is used daily, the wax will wear off in barely one month. What was once nice and shiny will degrade to a dull, matte finish. CA provides a durable, shiny finish. You won't be able to get a satin or matte finish with CA. CA also requires you to get micromesh pads or their equivalent, and/or some plastic polish to achieve a glossy finish.