bad plywood from Lowes
I went to Lowes the other day to buy a sheet of 3/4" ply with red oak faces.

I needed pieces that measured 30" long, so to make transporting easier I asked them to cut the sheet to three 32" pieces. The panel saw tore up about 2" of the oak veneer at each cut. The operator blamed it on a dull blade and I instructed him to make the next cut with a slow feed of the saw. Same result.

Luckily I was able to hide the ragged ends on the piece I was working on.

I just bought a new CMT 80 tooth negative hook angle blade for my radial arm saw. This blade should have cut the ply with almost no veneer damage. But instead it tore up the faces too (but not nearly as bad).

My conclusion is that the faces were not glued down well.

Has anyone else seen this?
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
Cooler said:

Has anyone else seen this?

It's very common with the thin veneers.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

Cooler said:

... my radial arm saw. ...

IMHO, it's the blade "pulling up" at the veneer. Same with the panel saw.

A slight score cut first would have helped, but a table saw is best, so the blade can "pull down" at the veneer.
[Image: usa-flag-waving-united-states-of-america...if-clr.gif]
Do you have a "show" side or are both sides meant to be looked at? Dull blade or improper blade may be the cause. He might have had the ply oriented where the blade was pulling up on the show side. Tearout that far is not common, but I suspect it's a blade issue. Panel saws were never meant to give you pristine edges anyway.
Still Learning,

Allan Hill