Flattening my Shapton waterstones
I'm using a couple Shapton Pro ceramic waterstones for sharpening. About two years ago I got an Atoma 400 diamond stone to flatten my water stones--Nortons at the time. I'm an occasional woodworker and have used the Atoma only a modest amount, mostly for flattening the water stones but also once in a while to flatten the back of an old chisel or plane blade. It's taking a long time to flatten the Shaptons these days--even when I do it after just one use. I wonder if the Atoma 400 is worn out already or if the ceramic stones just take a long time to flatten. The Atoma was expensive, but wonder if I should look for something else?
I don’t remember how long ago I got my Atoma 400, but it’s been a lot more than two years ago. It flattens my Shapton Pros pretty quickly, about 30-60 seconds. Here’s an example: http://giantcypress.net/post/668546073/j...pened-with

It may be that the Shaptons take longer to flatten than Nortons. But it still shouldn’t be a huge chore to do so.
Hail St. Roy, Full of Grace, The Schwarz is with thee.
Blessed art thou among woodworkers, and blessed is the fruit of thy saw, dovetails.
Holy St. Roy, Master of Chisels, pray for us sharpeners now, and at the hour of planing.
Amen.
$300 is a lot of Money!
giant Cypress: Japanese tool blog