Remote cabin Lighting
Just wondering what you gentleman are using in your cabins without electricity for lighting and refrigerating? Thank You Stan
Back in the day we used Coleman lanterns for light.

Now, I'd either do that or LED of some sort.

Refrigeration is coolers, of course that depends on how long you're going to be out there.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

Depends on how elaborate you want to get. One option is to have a generator and wire it for electricity. Then you can have all the lights and refrigeration you want. Of course, generators are expensive and noisy. Another option is DC lighting. A friend has this in his cabin. He has a couple of huge "Cat batteries" (batteries for construction equipment) his cabin is wired for DC lights in various places. He has a smaller gasoline generator to recharge the batteries. Still noisy, but you can pick your times to run it, and have it quiet in the evening. He also has a couple of solar panels to recharge the battery.

Yet another option is propane lights. You can install light fixtures which run on propane. The lights burn thru a mantle, like in a Coleman lamp. They throw a similar amount of nice bright light, but are quiet, unlike the hissing Coleman lamps. This requires running propane lines to all the fixtures from a connection outside for a propane cylinder.

Another option for lights is Aladdin lamps. These are oil (kerosene) lamps which use a mantle. They throw a lot brighter light than a standard oil lamp wick, and a lot more of it.

As far as refrigeration, you can get propane powered refrigerators. Sounds kind of counter=intuitive, but they work. I know a number of folks who have them in their cabins off the grid. I believe a lot of RV's have them also.