How would you finish this?
Finishing assembly on these two basket Barbie storage (seriously) cabinets and I am wondering how I should finish them.

The case and shelves are mahogany veneered MDF and the top and face frame are solid mahogany. They will have baskets on each shelf and will see medium to heavy use by a 4 year old girl. I don't intend to stain them.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
I'd use a 1# coat of Garnet shellac although if you like a lighter color you could use Orange/Amber shellac—either will bring up the grain nicely. Then I'd topcoat with either Crystalac Polyox or any of the GF waterborne tocoats . These are water cleanup, self leveling and very easy to use. They can be sprayed or applied with a foam brush.
homo homini lupus
"The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity." Yeats
Si vis pacem, para bellum
Quodcumque potest manus tua facere instaner opere Ecclesiastes
Thanks for the advice. Forgive me, as I'm a newbie at this stuff, but do I need to fill the grain before finishing with that process?
I'm no expert but I think multiple applications of shellac, wet sanded will fill the grain. For these pieces that will be abused I don't think I would go to the trouble. Consider just shellac for the finish - the repair is just more shellac - about a 15 minute job. With a tough topcoat, repairs are more difficult - mostly you get to strip the pieces and start over. Just a thought.
Thanks,  Curt
-----------------
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
      -- Soren Kierkegaard
Seems to me that filling (or not) the grain is a matter of personal taste. My wife believes everything should be baby butt smooth, but I like to see the pores on some wooden pieces.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
If it's new to you , keep it simple.