Favourite Wood
What is everyones favourite wood for projects and why? I've always wanting to try Baltic birch but can't afford it. As a novice woodworker, I stick to pine and MDF.
Cherry
I like the look of Walnut best.

I like the workability of Cherry best.

I like the versatility of Maple best. I can dye/stain it to match nearly any color I need. Of course the grain won't match, and it's a rather dull wood to look at.

Joel
USN (Corpsman) 1968-1972
USAF Retired Aug 31, 1994
Santa Rosa County, Fl Retired Jun 1, 2012
Now just a hobbiest enjoying woodworking!
Joel H. said:

I like the look of Walnut best.

I like the workability of Cherry best.

I like the versatility of Maple best. I can dye/stain it to match nearly any color I need. Of course the grain won't match, and it's a rather dull wood to look at.

Joel

I second Walnut and Cherry. Although mahogany is right there among those two, but I give walnut my first choice. Curly maple makes for beautiful wood too.

I used Padauk for the first time this weekend and it hand planed very smooth. Especially the end grain. May have to think of more things to build with it.
"This is our chance, this our lives, this is our planet we're standing on. Use your choice, use your voice, you can save our tomorrows now." - eV