turning techniques
I am new to turning and very new to turning bowls. I have made 4 bowls 3 of which are segmented in the past month. The latest one is purple heart with the top ring out of walnut. I have noticed it seems to be a lot harder then the maple and mahogany one I made before it. My question is I bought a few carbide tools and 2 bowl gouges. The carbide tools work awesome getting the bowl to shape quickly but on the inside I seem to get a lot of catches. So I have a few questions. What speed do you guys normally turn at for roughing and finishing? I feel like I am not turning fast enough when finishing. Can turning to slow increase the odds of a catch? Are carbide tools more prone to catching? Thanks
Rather than use scrapers to work your surfaces, I'd recommend switching to bowl gouges. You'll find, with proper technique, that catches will rarely happen.

You can also buy a curved tool rest to get the tool overhang to a minimum so that the reaction load at your hand will be minimal when using scrapers.

IIRC, the rule of thumb is RPM x diameter = 6000 - 9000. Even at those speeds you can have catches depending on the wood used, but, in general, it's a good range to be in for any tool whether you are roughing or finishing.

IME, you are more likely to get a catch with scrapers, particularly for internal work, regardless of the tool material. I suspect it is more a function of the tool geometry.
Cellulose runs through my veins!
The most common exotics used in segmenting purpleheart, bloodwood, yellowheart, etc, are harder than the domestics. The other issue you will face that most turners don't is all the glue lines you are cutting. That alone will require more sharpening of HSS tools. I'm assuming your carbide tools are used on a scraper. For the inside you want the cutter at the center line and the handle elevated. If the bar the cutter attaches to has a rounded bottom try rotating the handle slightly for a shear scraping effect.