Workbench build in progress - Pop Wood "2 day workbench" design
Hi all and hope everyone is well

The last couple of days I have been working on a workbench for my shop based on Chris Schwarz's "build a sturdy workbench in two days" from the pop wood shopclass online videos.

I am a woodworker that uses a variety of tools- from scrub planes to CNCs, to get "the job done"

I already have several horizontal surfaces for primary use with power tools but have been missing a bench with proper holding capabilities. My only woodworking bench in the past has been a Sjorbergs bench with 2 vises which eventually racked and sagged quite badly and because it was so light I screwed it to the wall to keep it from "walking across the shop" during vigorous use. My other horizontal surfaces are also too high for me to comfortably plane for more than a swipe or two... and I have discovered that the proper height has a huge effect on me using proper technique to make my tools predictable. I hadn't realized how big a deal that would be... but I have found the impact to be huge.

Primary use for me will be holding boards flat as I quite often work on faces with planes... for this reason I purchased and intend to install a veritas quick release tail vise. (I'm aware it is intended for use with an apron, but I am going to just cut out the chop area so that it stops at the right side leg/top. I am really looking forward to having dogs close to the edge in line with the vise support... (can you guess now why my last bench vise suffered from racking... )

I also do quite a bit of edge work- but don't see a problem with this setup... (please tell me if you disagree!)