Basic woodcarving books and patterns
I am taking several classes in woodcarving. Being a beginner I would like to practice doing relief carvings that are not too difficult. I'm looking for patterns for relief carvings that I might try. Can you recommend any books that would contain patterns that a novice could try? Thanks.
I have bought a number of carving books over the years, but have found them not so helpful in improving my carving skills and techniques. Most carving books spend a lot of pages on the tools themselves before getting into carving techniques. I have, however, found Mary May's online tutorials and patterns to be very helpful. She focuses on carving techniques in her tutorials while showing what tool(s) she is using. So, although you've asked for recommendations of woodcarving books/patterns, suggest you take a look at what Mary May offers online. Scroll down the following link to find quite a few 'free' patterns and videos for beginners. You'll need to register to access them, but it won't cost you a penny.

https://www.marymaycarving.com/carvingschool/

If you like what you see in the free stuff area, you can pay for a month of download access (for about the same cost as a new carving book) to download any of her many patterns and tutorials. I have found them to be most helpful in learning and doing new carving techniques and in using various carving tools.

Tom
Mary May helped me and the others in some free video sessions to learn carving and she is fantastic to learn from.

My ineptitude in carving is not due to her teaching but from lack of proper tools and well lack of understand the basics of carving wood.

I would greatly recommend her.

She has where you can subscribe to all of her videos for a monthly fee and I do feel it would be well worth it.

Arlin
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.