How to shrink wood?
I have a drawer that is stuck in a very thin box. I think the wood from the drawer expanded after it was inserted into the box. The humidity in my basement where the piece was built is so much lower than the humidity in the room where the box has been sitting for the last six months. Is there an easy way I can get the wood to contract so I can get the drawer loose? I don't want to pry it loose. The drawer sides are only 1/8" thick . The entire piece is very fragile, so I would like to avoid the heavy hand tactics I usually apply whenever I am frustrated. Thanks.
I've never needed to shrink wood.... stretch it, yes.

I think your only option is to get it in a dryer climate and wait.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

blow dryer set to a lower heat..

gonna take time.........
Let us not seek the Republican Answer , or the Democratic answer. Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future  John F. Kennedy 

I guess you could move it back to the basement for a couple months to see if it will revert back to when it was built.
What Joe said.

Mel
ABC(Anything But Crapsman)club member
Put the box in the oven at around 100 degrees. Check the drawer periodically until it can be removed.

I doubt if the drawer swelled. More likely, it was the box that swelled and captured the drawer.
If I had 8 hours to cut down a tree, I'd do it in 15 minutes with a chainsaw and drink beer the other 7:45 hrs.
Hair dryer
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
JSpill said: