wiring home network
Hi all

I'm a noob at networking so set me straight.

I am finishing the basement and want to pull a serviceable network for TV and data before the walls go up.

I currently have a bit of a goofy situation as data enters the house in the upstairs office on an ethernet cable from a satellite receiver and TV enters the house in the upstairs living room on coax from another satellite receiver. Until now both of these serviced just the one computer or TV where they directly connected right next to where they entered the house.

Here is what I am considering:

For data, install the modem and router in the office where the service enters the house. The office computer will plug directly to the router right there. From the office, pull five Cat5E leads to the other rooms in the house where I want data connections. Then I will have a wall plate with 5 connections in the office to which I can connect any or all to the router to provide service to any of those locations.

For TV, do basically the same thing except I will probably move the current entry point of the coax to a room closer to where TV is likely to be used. Connect the TV signal to a 3-in-1 splitter and then pull three coax cables from there to the three rooms where there might ever be a TV. Once again the room where the coax is split will have three jacks in the wall which each connect to another room, and I can connect the signal from the splitter to whichever or all the rooms that I want to provide TV service to.

Is this smart or stupid? Of course I'm open to other ways to do it.
-DC

"I have morons on my team."
-Megatron, 1986
Well for the networking, there's this thing called wireles.....
I have at least one Ethernet jack in each room and one coax cable as well. I still wish I had put in more. Wireless works OK, but I've found it gets bogged down with all the devices we have now. Ethernet is nearly 100% reliable
Mike

Non impediti ratione cogitationis