Spray foam insulation applied to the underside of a roof deck?
On Easter we had my in laws over for lunch. As I was talking to my brother-in-law about various things, the topic turned to houses and energy efficiency. He bought a new house that has the attic sealed with the spray foam applied directly to the underside of the roof deck. I am no expert on this, but I was always told the underside of the roof needed ventilation to prevent the shingles from getting to hot or developing moisture underneath or some such. Looking at various places around the internet, I can see that it is indeed done this way, but I haven't discovered why this is ok and the ventilation is not needed with spray foam. So, knowing that all answers can be found on Woodnet, here I am. I was also wondering if it would be worthwhile to do this on an older (1950's) ranch with almost no slope to the roof?
i thought it had to do with the attic now being part of the conditioned air space instead of the conditioned air space stopping at the ceiling. but I'm proly wrong on that.

Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away. - Philip K. Dick

Mark

I've seen this a lot lately and have heard if you do this, it needs to be open cell foam to allow the substrate to breath. Also they stated if you had a leak with closed cell you would never know until you pulled off your rotted roof. With the open cell the water would penetrate and let you know you had a leak. I'm also curious to the pros and cons considering my attic is terribly insulated and this would be a viable option for me.
Well, Bye...
Google is your friend, search for "hot roof"; http://www.oneprojectcloser.com/cool-roof-vs-hot-roof/
Very informative, but it didn't address the issue of having the air flow under the shingles as you need with fiberglass batts vs spraying the foam right on the roof deck.

At least I didn't catch it if it was there.