Need a pen turners lathe.
I've been helping one of my daughters classmates learn to turn pens and his dad asked me to help him find a suitable lathe for him so he can do it in his garage instead of him always coming to my shop. This young man is 14 and his dad only wants to spend maybe a couple hundred dollars just in case this is just a phase. I told him I'd look for a used one but I'm not sure what to look for since I just started learning how to turn pens with him on my 3520B. I told him I'd help the kid get set up with a few tools and things and if he burns out I'll buy the lathe from him and put it in my shop. I might as well start collecting lathes to go along with my router collection.

I'd appreciate any advice you guys might have.

Jeff
It's time for the patriots to stand up!
the 3520B is way too much lathe for him right now. Maybe something like the Rikon used would be more suited. As for tools don't waste money on the small pen tools, buy full size, many on here suggest the Benjaman's best to start with and of course learn to sharpen. I am sure others may have better suggestions.

Mel
ABC(Anything But Crapsman)club member
Used is the only way he is going to limit his spending a couple hundred. Even a small jet like the 1014 isn't going to be cheap. A bench top lathe is his best bet, whatever the brand.
Cellulose runs through my veins!
Jeff

This is the lathe I first started with and really liked it until I learned I could get a larger swing in the Delta 46-460

https://www.pennstateind.com/store/TCLC10VS.html

Works great and great price too.

Arlin
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
As Mel said, the Rikon is probably your most affordable quality option. Ive never seen a good used lathe for sale near me. You can try www.searchtempest.com to look on multiple Craigslists if you don't mind driving a bit.