Spraying latex paint
I want to spray latex paint with a TCP gravity HVLP gun but so far with poor results. The gun has a 2.5 mm nozzle and I'm diluting the paint 20% with water but it seems to still be too thick. Floutrol does not help. This is my first attempt at spraying anything except with a rattle can so maybe I should practice on something simpler. Can I dilute the paint more? I'm using Valspar semi-gloss interior paint on top of a primed, smooth surface. Stick to brush for this kind of latex?
Mats
Do you have a little plastic filter in the gun inlet, below the cup? If so, take it out and throw it away. That might be your problem all by itself, but who knows if you don't know what the viscosity is. You should get yourself a $6 plastic #4 Ford cup and measure the viscosity. Also, download Jeff Jewitt's article on spraying paint. It will show you what the correct viscosity is for your gun/needle combination, and gives advise on spraying latex. Good luck.

John
Floetrol is not a paint reducer. I don't think you are spraying with the right type of equipment. What is it you are working on?
Any free advice given is worth double price paid.
I'm basically with John.
Flowtrol modifies how the coating behaves once it's on the surface. (Improves self leveling.) it's not a thinner it only works once the paint is on the object.

You may be over thinning; most companies suggest no more than 10% water be added.

You are actually using the wrong tool for this job. Sure HVLP will work fine but with more difficulty than an airless sprayer. What you will want if you are doing a lot is an Airless Paint sprayer ; Wagner makes a bunch of decent ones at low prices and Graco makes better at higher prices. If you are painting a few cabinets or a couple doors there is no need to consider them; but if you are doing a lot it may be worth the investment.
homo homini lupus
"The best lack all conviction, while the worst are full of passionate intensity." Yeats
Si vis pacem, para bellum