Tracing Coax
Hi everyone,

We recently bought a new home, and up on the 3rd floor there is a cable outlet that is not working. I can follow it into the crawl space at the eves, but it then goes down in an exterior wall, and I cannot follow it beyond that.

Outside where the cable connects to the house there are about 6 cables that are not connected and have no connectors on them. I am wondering if one of these is perhaps what I need to connect.

Does anyone have any ideas on how I could figure out if one of these coax cables is in fact on the run up to the third floor? I know I could go get some connectors and start connecting stuff, but I would like to narrow it down, if possible.

Thanks,
Matt
probably the cheapest option
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

You could short the center conductor to the shield, on one of the disconnected cables, at a time, then check for continuity between them at the upstairs connector-with 2 people, one upstairs (to read the meter), and one at the box (to short the plugs one at a time), this would be pretty quick.
rlnguy said:

You could short the center conductor to the shield, on one of the disconnected cables, at a time, then check for continuity between them at the upstairs connector-with 2 people, one upstairs (to read the meter), and one at the box (to short the plugs one at a time), this would be pretty quick.

^^^ ^^^
"Truth is a highway leading to freedom"  --Kris Kristofferson

Wild Turkey
We may see the writing on the wall, but all we do is criticize the handwriting.
(joined 10/1999)
Thanks, I'll give it a shot!

Matt
Wild Turkey said:

[blockquote]rlnguy said:

^^^ ^^^

[/blockquote]