About that collection of mixed screws
As a hobbyist I have, like many of you, a pan of mixed screws that I dig into for a few screws on occasion. Today I caught myself bypassing the ones with straight slots. Realizing that this had been a habit for a few years I noticed that the collection had become mostly straight slots. So, like the great lock washer purge of '98, I started tossing them into the recycling bin. Brass screws get a reprieve.
I dumped all my common hardware years ago. The only common headed stuff I kept was the machine screws. I don't know why the common headed screw is still even made other than to aggravate people. Seems screw manufacturers are somewhat vindictive.

Oh I also have some silicon bronze screws that I will keep as well.
I am a packrat who has built an extra building after filling one up

Consequently I probably have every extra screw or bolt from all the oddball stuff I have had somewhere in a collective of containers like these.

or these

I even check them when I need a fastener or two. Unfortunately because I need a 12 step program for hardware if I need 3 or more, off to the store I go.
Worst thing they can do is cook ya and eat ya

GW
I am in the process of replacing all the original cabinet hinges in our built in 1965 houes.

Every single screw is a straight slotted one.

I have a DeWalt 20v drill.

It is an adventure getting some of them(bottom hinge 10" off the floor, for example.

The little LED light on the drill is calibrated for a point about 8" in front of the chuck----meaning an extension is necessary.

I'm old and fat, can no longer bend/kneel. It is an adventure.
Straight slot screws yes, but I keep all lock washers.

I hated straight slot screws since I turned my first one probably 50 years ago. The Philips wasn't much better. The square is my favorite, now they have the star drive which is fine- they can stop there. I'm tired of re-tooling.
daddo said:

Straight slot screws yes, but I keep all lock washers.