Can/how to Refurbish Beatup old woodworking bench top
I was looking at an old woodworking bench where the top had been greatly abused and beat up. While the bench is thick, old and heavy with good bones and vises that are worth the price, I was wondering if the top could be removed and refinished; sanded down to good wood or something else to make it into a usable bench again at a reasonable cost and effort?

Does anyone have any experience along these lines that could guide me to a good decision on what to do?

Thank you
I guess it depends on what you are looking for...

I picked up an old bench from a furniture factory. It was rough and had some water stains. I hit it with some 180 grit and put an oil finish on it.

Some may call it "beat up", I say it has character.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

I rehabbed one by taking about 1/8" off the entire top with a router sled. I just screwed jointed 2 x 4's to the sides of the bench, and used winding sticks to assure they were parallel.

Here's picture of a router sled I built to flatten a live edge slab, in case you don't know what one looks like.

John
Stanley No. 7.
A piece of 1/8" Masonite hides a lot of sins and is a bunch less work than a Stanley #7. It depends on what you want. The router sled will do a great job of leveling but it is a tedious process. The #7 (and/or a scrub plane) will get you there after a bit of a workout. Masonite and double sided tape will get you a hard smooth surface with very little work but it sure is ugly.
Mike

If you're the smartest person in the room, you're in the wrong room!

But not today...
If it's as heavy as it should be, you won't want to remove the top. Often even a very beat-up benchtop can be perfectly serviceable, so unless it's absolutely beat to heck, I'd just leave it as-is.