Garage Door Opener Compatibility
I have a Lift-Master "The Professional Line, Formula I, Whisper Drive" garage door opener. On checking the name plate, I find that it says: Chamberlain Residential Door Opener, 1/2HP, Model 1280R, Mfg Date 07/99. This is a belt drive system and I have two of these - one for the single door and one for the double door. Both openers are exactly the same.

I have been having problems with the double door opener and want to change it. However, I would like to continue using the existing remote, if possible, as it (i.e., remote) can control both garage door opener. I also have a keypad for the openers, which I don't want to change, if possible. Questions:

(a) Should I be looking under Lift Master or Chamberlain for the new opener ?

(b) Is a 1/2HP opener adequate for a double door or should I be looking at something more powerful ?

© Are belt drive openers good or should I be looking at chain or screw drives ?

(d) Are Lift-Master/Chamberlain good brands or should I be looking for something else ? (perhaps Craftsman ?) These came with the house, when I bought it about 5 years ago. I realize I cannot use the same remote if I change the door opener, but in a worst case scenario, I am willing to forgo the remote and get another one.

(e) I have a feeling the springs for my garage door are gone (2 for double door). When I disengage the door from the lift mechanism and try to move it, it seems to want to shut itself (i.e., go down by itself). Since the springs are about 16 years old, I thought they are probably at the end of their useful life. Roughly how much would it cost to replace the springs for a single and double door, if I had them both done at the same time - both parts and labor ? (I live in the Phoenix, AZ area) ? I don't plan to mess around with the springs myself but would like to get a tradesman to do it.

(f) What lubricant should I use for the door rollers ? The door seems to close and open quite noisily.