Building rafters
I'm adding a screened room onto the house. The roof will be perpendicular to the house roof with the same 5/12 pitch. I would rather use rafters than trusses so the ceiling will be vaulted for a better look. I have built a barn and a workshop using trusses, but I've never built anything with a roof using rafters. I think I can do it, but I'm a truck parts salesman, not a builder. I'll be doing all the work myself. Do you all know of any problems I could/will run into?
If women don't find you handsome, at least let 'em find you handy!
What is the span?

You will need a structural ridge beam or else some form of collar tie to keep the rafters from pushing the walls out.

If a structural ridge beam we will need the length of beam also. Last bit of info is the roof loading for your area.
WoodNET... the new safespace
I assume the rafters will go up the roof to the existing ridge.This means you need two 2x 8 or wider plates that nail to the roof . Shingles under the plate must be removed and reinstalled with flashing after the roof is sheathed.Each pair of rafters going up to the peak will be shorter by the same amount til you reach the last pair.
There is a lot more to consider,if I were you I would hire a carpenter that is a roof framer to help you.Make sure if you do hire someone they know roof framing,not all carpenters are capable if they haven't done it before.
You will save your self a lot of headaches and problem a few dollars in material too.
mike
The ridge beam will be 28' 8". I don't know the roof load. I live in TN, and we don't get much snow here.
What is the rafter span or width of the room?
mike4244 said:

I assume the rafters will go up the roof to the existing ridge.

The "perpendicular" comment would preclude this.
Perpendicular is at right angle to the main roof. Parallel, is I assume what you were thinking.
I have framed a few roofs in my time but not considered a roof framer.