I purchase a Graco 4900 HVLP today....
I bought a Graco 4900 HVLP today. I couldn't pass it up for $120. It's complete sans the power cord which also meant it was untested and I bought it from a reseller. It was a gamble I was willing to take being it's a four stage HVLP and IT WAS the HVLP to have when I was a painter for hire. This unit was a $1300 HVLP pre 2000 days.

It did come with 5 different needles and caps and was otherwise complete. I can tell it was used but it was taken care of based on the pick up tube, cup and needles. I figure it's worth more than $120 in parts if it fails to fire up or I have any major issues with it. I have 2 Graco airless sprayers--695 Ultra Max and a smaller ST420 lacquer pump. I love airless sprayers and they put out a really nice finish but they waste a ton of material and gallons of finish are getting super expensive for the hobbiest finisher. I also have an Earlex 5500 that I just can't seem to fall in love with. I'm hoping this 4 stage HVLP will be my solution to finishing anything below a whole set of cabinets.

That will be a VERY good deal if everything is in working order!
Don't sweat the petty things and don't pet the sweaty things. -- G. Carlin
Yeah, outstanding deal. Good luck with it.

If you can't seem to fall in love the Earlex 5500, perhaps you could try to find it a good home... mine?

" The founding fathers weren't trying to protect citizens' rights to have an interesting hobby." I Learn Each Day 1/18/13

www.RUSTHUNTER.com
Gregory of Sherwood Forest said:

Yeah, outstanding deal. Good luck with it.

If you can't seem to fall in love the Earlex 5500, perhaps you could try to find it a good home... mine?

Greg's Home for Wayward Tools? Or the Island of Misfit Toys?
Well the power cord was ordered off Ebay. It was a fourth of the price of the Graco replacement. I can't imagine there can be that much difference. I did get a 10' long 15A heavy duty cord which is under the 15" max length Graco recommends.