which thickness planer
I'm in the market for a new planer. My Delta 22-540 started making clattering noises yesterday, and the feed rollers quit working. After reading an earlier post here about Delta, I think I will stay away. So I am looking for suggestions, I've read that the Dewalt 735W gets good reviews, but thats a bit steep for me. I am just a hobbyist and am looking for a good machine that's a decent price. Thanks for any suggestions.
I would search for an older, American-made, cast iron unit. It may require some maintenance, such as new bearings and pulleys, but you'll likely end up with a better, less expensive tool.

Unless you require a bench top, then I can't help you there.
Semper fi,
Brad

Pull the side cover off of your Delta and look to see if the drive pulley for the cutterhead may have come off. I recall there was an issue with this happening a few years ago.
If you are going down a river at 2 mph and your canoe loses a wheel, how much pancake mix would you need to shingle your roof?

Check the drive pulley as suggested. Make sure the key is still in place
I have a Ridgid and am happy with it- other than HD no longer stocks the blades. The only "portable" I would consider us the Dewalt- I hate being jerked around by HD.
I would look for a used Dewalt if I were you. Personally, my next planer will be a heavy, stay in place piece of cast iron.

If I was in the market today for another planer I would go with the Dewalt 735W. My impression is that it's the best "portable" planer in it's size. Yes, it's pricey but they come up on craigslist all the time. The other option may be the Ridgid planer available at Home Depot. I've read good things about them, as well. Have fun shopping around and let us know what you end up with.