Need some help on a spray finish
I'm building a crib for my next grandkid. Typical combination of solid oak wood, oak plywood and slats. There are so many slats I decided to spray a quick-drying oil polyurethane. I'm not an expert sprayer, only done a couple of small pieces. I'm outside at around 80-85. In the shade on a calm day. When I started I had the feed set too high and it started to run. Wiped off, backed off and went on.

3 coats later looks good. No runs. No sanding between coats. The solid wood and the slats are sort of OK. Rougher then I want. The plywood feels like sand paper. 400 grit knocks it down without visible scratches. I thought it was dust but the 2 surfaces are so different.

I have 2 more pieces to do and I want to avoid this problem. What can I do? Am I spraying with not enough varnish? I can't figure out why the plywood is so very rough. Ideas?
Was living the good retired life on the Lake. Now just living retired.
It's hard to say why you're getting such a rough surface for sure. It will help if you let the forum know what kind of sprayer you're using.

One thing that comes to mind is the dust you're going to pick up being outside using an oil based poly....even a fast drying one.

Are you sanding your plywood with at least 220 before starting?

If you think you're getting enough material on the piece--and it's still rough--you could consider rubbing it out with 0000 steel wool and a paste wax after it cures out more. That will knock down any dust nibs and give you a nice satin sheen.

If you're sanding in-between coats, make sure you're riding the piece of all the dust prior to adding another coat. A shop vac with a brush will typically do it. You could also use a tack cloth or rag lightly dampened with mineral spirits. You may also consider doing a "wipe on" finish for your last coat and bring it into your garage if you feel safe doing that. There should be less dust in your garage than being outside. Just a few ideas.