User error...
First try at adding Greene & Greene cloud lifts (?) to a coffee table to hide tongue and groove joint of my breadboard ends.  I marked out the mortise for the lifts, and then used a 1" chisel to create shoulders for the joint.  I kept the bevel of the chisel to the waste side of the work, but ended up "blowing out" the outer edges of the table top.  I didn't think I went too deep (<1/8"), but being self-taught, I'm not sure what I have done wrong.  On my scrap, I didn't have this issue and thought my chisels were sharp, but looking for ideas as to what I did wrong.

Steve
Hi, Steve. This sounds like something you will want to show in pictures. With all the hassles people are having the pictures themselves will be a challenge.
Trying to cut a mortise on the side of a board near the end (Breadboard)?

This piece has to be longer than the placement of the mortise. Get longer piece, cut the mortises way in from the ends, then cut ends to length.

Pictures would also help to diagnose your situation.
WoodTinker
Alternatively to cutting the piece long, mortising, then cutting to length, you can clamp a piece to the end backing up the mortise so it doesn't blow out.  This is similar to planing end grain, where a sacrificial piece is clamped on either end to prevent tearout.
Still Learning,

Allan Hill
(07-24-2016, 04:27 PM)woodworkersteve Wrote: First try at adding Greene & Greene cloud lifts (?) to a coffee table to hide tongue and groove joint of my breadboard ends.  I marked out the mortise for the lifts, and then used a 1" chisel to create shoulders for the joint.  I kept the bevel of the chisel to the waste side of the work, but ended up "blowing out" the outer edges of the table top.  I didn't think I went too deep (<1/8"), but being self-taught, I'm not sure what I have done wrong.  On my scrap, I didn't have this issue and thought my chisels were sharp, but looking for ideas as to what I did wrong.

Steve

Steve,