Stiction
I am building up layers of Poly and using a wooden sanding block in between every two to three applications in an attempt to create a mirror like finish. The wood is White Oak and the surface has been hand planed. As I get closer to perfection, I am running into a severe amount of suction/sticking with 600 grit w/d sandpaper.

I have never done this before-any suggestions as to how to proceed? 

Thanks
Use some water with a little liquid dish washing detergent in it as a lubricant.  Alternatively, you can use mineral spirits.  

John
I am sorry that I did not include that information in my post. I am using water with a little liquid soap.
Let it set up longer. You have too many coats and they aren't all cured. Automotive clear does the same thing if you start sanding before everything has set, cured, out-gassed etc. Just leave it alone for a while.

You may very well have undercoats still trying to dry through your last coat.

Swirls from a ROS are caused by the same thing. Little soft or uncured bits of snot stuck in the abrasive.
Neil Summers Home Inspections

I came to a stop sign and a skanky tweaker chick in a tube top climbed out of the brush and propositioned me.  She looked like she didn't have any teeth so I counted that as a plus.

... Kizar Sosay

(09-12-2016, 08:05 PM)Snipe Hunter Wrote: Let it set up longer. You have too many coats and they aren't all cured. Automotive clear does the same thing if you start sanding before everything has set, cured, out-gassed etc. Just leave it alone for a while.

You may very well have undercoats still trying to dry through your last coat.

Swirls from a ROS are caused by the same thing. Little soft or uncured bits of snot stuck in the abrasive.

That could be it. Sanding seemed easier for the first few groups of coats. I may be trying to hurry the process since it seems to be taking more time than I anticipated.

Thanks