Anybody build a cajon?
So I've been a drummer for forty plus years and a woodworker for about 25. One of the trendy things in percussion these days is called a cajon. Basically just a wooden box with a sound hole cut in it, they've been around for a long long time. They are played with the hands, sort of like bongos.
I went down to my local music store and played a few and looked at the construction - and price tags. They range from sub $100 models up to a few hundred, and part of me says just buy it and be done, but where is the fun in that? Building one would not be difficult except for one caveat; I have no idea what it would sound like when it's done. There are plans and youtube videos on line, but I was wondering if anybody here has actually built one and would be willing to share their experience. Mostly I'm wondering about the different wood choices and how they affect sound. Most of the lower to mid level store bought models seem to be primarily baltic birch plywood. The front playing surface, called a tapa, is very thin (about 1/8") and is a solid piece about 12"x20" so hardwood there would seem impractical, but I know selecting the right tone woods is critical in the design of most acoustic instruments. Anybody have first hand experience?
No experience, but solid or laminated spruce is used for guitar tops for the best all around sound. Solid being preferred as it resonates the best as it ages.
Solid maple is louder, but too tinny for guitars tops.
For drum beating, I'm not sure what to suggest. I had an old wooden wash tub that sounded good.
Tongue drums for the kids are as far is I've gone.

I'd think it's something you would need to make a few and see what works best, or more to the point, makes the sound that YOU want it to make.

I'd certainly want to make a few basic variations before I went buying exotic tone wood, that might not sound any better because of other design factors.
Google "how to build a cajon" and read away!