I am an person...please help
I attached a picture of a desk I built in curly cherry.  As you can just see I have desk lamp on the top of the desk and it has been there forever.

Now for the part where I am an person.

Just moved the lamp and realized that the desk (cherry) has darkened beautifully, but not under the lamp. I have a perfect round of lighter color top on the desk.

I even commented to my wife on how beautifully the cherry was darkening and never gave the lamp a second thought

Short of keeping the lamp there forever, what can be done?

Should I cover the rest of the top, except for the lighter area and let it darken slowly? Will it??

Can I use an artificial light to speed up the darkening of that spot? ( cover the rest of the top while doing so)?

I probably do not want to try to blend in the area, as I have no experience in that

Finish is shellac.

Thanks

Attached Files Image(s)

1) Nice desk!
2) You aren't an person (at least not because of this)!
3) Personally, I would just wait. It may take awhile but it will even out. Any attempts to fix it may make things worse except the masking thing.
4) Even if you had given it a thought, you probablt still would have forgot to shift the lamp on occasion (VOE).
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
I don't think the area under the lamp will ever darken the same amount as the rest, no matter what you do, but it will get closer and closer as time passes. I would just leave it alone and let Mother nature take its course. A year or two from now I'll bet it looks pretty good, and in 10 years you'll hardly see it.

John
thanks, I might try moving it over in front of an east facing window for a while and see if that helps.
Back to the window so only the top is getting the sun

dan
Wow Dan, nice work.
Neil Summers Home Inspections

" What would Fred do?"

... CLETUS