resawing Buckthorn logs
Common Buckthorn (Rhamnus cathartica) is a pretty common invasive species all around the Great Lakes (and beyond I'm sure).  I frequently hike a piece of city land where they have recently done a removal and treatment of the shrub. While most of the wood is pretty small in diameter I was lucky enough to find a few that were worth bucking up and dragging back to the car.  Something I was happy to think of at the time was to get pieces with a crotch. I've never used this wood before, has anyone else? I believe I've heard its good for turning...

I got a really great, old Delta bandsaw last summer and had yet to work much with it. After poking around online a bit I found a couple of log resawing sleds that I liked and threw one together. It's really remarkable how easy it is to cut logs on your bandsaw with a decent sled and a good resaw blade. I have to say I was a little giddy about it, especially when I saw the results.  See for yourselves. 

Turns out I'm still learning the ins and outs of the new system. Guess I can only put 5 pics per post, or there's a total size limit. Here's a few more pics. This method makes for quite a bit of waste it turns out.  Not a bad stack of really nice wood.  I cut it at about 5/8 - 3/4 thick hoping for some usable half inch material. I should be able to get about 4 inch wide boards out of it. I'm thinking picture frames or small boxes maybe. Any suggestions for how to use the crotch pieces in a way that shows them off?

I considered whether or not to share this next bit, but we're all kind folks here right? No need to be too embarrassed...