holdfast specifications
I was going to check into getting a couple holdfasts made by a local blacksmith group but they aren't familiar with what they are.  Can anyone provide "plans" or whatever a blacksmith might need to make one? I don't know the first thing about metalwork but I assume there is a standard format or instructions for this type of thing.
How do you know you're learning anything if you don't screw up once in awhile?

My blog: http://birdsandboards.blogspot.com/
The episode of the Woodwright's Shop where Peter Ross forges them would give them a good idea of what you're looking for. If you tell them how long you want it to reach and how big of a hole you're using it in, they can figure out each side of the corner.
It's pretty interesting: http://www.thirteen.org/programs/the-woo...hold-fast/
I am not an expert on holdfasts by any measure, but from what I have heard from people, there are a lot of differences in quality between different types of commercial holdfasts.
If I was in your shoes, I would buy one which has good reviews, rather than having a blacksmith who has never made one try to learn how to do it.
Just seems like it is not worth the risk to get a homemade one.. No offense to your blacksmith, I am sure he is skilled, but it seems he has never made one if you are asking for plans.
I say give it a try. Most holdfasts use 3/4 or slightly thinner steel bar, although the French holdfasts are thicker. The top can be curved, like a crook: it doesn't have to be 90 degrees, like the holdfasts Peter Ross makes. The crucial feature is the angle on the pad at the end of the hook. It needs to be less than 90 degrees to the shaft, in part because the steel has some spring to it, but also because when the hold fast is in the hole, it will be tilted back a little from straight up and down. The front of the pad should touch the work first. You can look around on the internet and see what other makers are doing. That will give you an idea of the shape.