trying to help my kids - long distance
Here's the situation; I'm in Michigan, my adult son and family live near Atlanta Georgia. They recently bought a house. In that house was a corner gas fireplace (built in) that they wanted removed. Wife and I visited for a couple of days and I was persuaded to help remove the fireplace. In two days I removed the wall, the fireplace, and the gas line feeding the fireplace. What is left to do is to re drywall the exposed corner (about 125 sq. ft.) move a condensate line that ran in the dead space, a wee bit of framing (four or five wall studs) replace 2 electrical outlets removed from the old wall back to the newly squared off wall - and paint.  Add a little more under misc. like plugging holes made by the removed pipes. There is also some flooring to replace, but that's a different discussion.
Anyway, the kids know zip about any of the trades, and as they are recent transplants, don't really know anyone who knows someone.
I'm not a pro, but I think a decent handyman has maybe two days work there. Mostly, it's drywall, but as mentioned a bit of everything is involved. I expected bids to come in at around $1000. Actually, I was thinking maybe $700, but factored in that I'm terminally cheap. Also, my son was going to do the painting.
So far they have 2 bids, both coming in at about $2000.
What am I missing here? Am I that disconnected from Atlanta prices? I know if they use a big time contractor things get expensive fast, but they really need just one capable guy and maybe $150 in materials.
I'm mostly just venting here, but if any of ya'll are familiar with that part of the country and can set me straight, I'd appreciate it.