glueing up wr cedar - carving out a pair of oars
Rainbow 
I have a project that requires glueing up western red cedar. I've never worked with cedar before so I have several questions before I get into it.

a) What's the best glue to use? This will be for decorative purposes, so stress and weather will not be an issue. Will Titebond II or III work well?  Any other glue that won't leave a visible glue line?

b) Because the wood is so porous, I assume it will suck up the glue like crazy. Should I "prime" it with some glue (thinned?) first, then re-apply another coat before clamping? Or should I use some kind of epoxy? Other? I have to do some contour shaping after the glue up.

c) I want a clear finish, so thinking of wipe-on Arm-R-Seal. I thought of BLO to pop the grain and color and then finishing with Arm-R-Seal, but I'm afraid it might darken the color too much. I plan to test first, but want an idea of what I should be expecting.

d) Any suggestions or experiences working with cedar are appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
- AJH

Gorilla or similar works with oily wood, and most Cedars have oils/resins, though I have sanded, and sealed with a wash coat of Shellac and used just Titebond regular glue.

You could use a seal coat, or just a thinned coat of glue, allow that to dry, it fills pores, and then go for it. I have never felt the need to do much though, just make sure it's jointed/planed clean, and 4 square and it goes together pretty nice, but if you want to assure, and have the time, go for it.

I like Shellac, a thin blonde makes it redder, but so does spit, or anything wet
Big Grin

It is a soft wood, and you can mark it if you treat it roughly, but it is an easy to cut, joint, plane wood. Sanding makes a mess, so wear a mask, and use good DC. It has some history as an allergen, so folks with sensitivities might need to use caution Takes finish pretty well, but will initially darken with most anything.

Western Red Cedar info

Whatcha gonna make?