Trouble fitting a Veritas replacement iron in an old Stanley
I wonder if anyone else has had this problem. I bought a Veritas PM-V11 replacement iron and chipbreaker for my old  No. 3 Stanley smoother (Type 10, Bailey design). Here's the issue. When I set the chipbreaker close to the cutting edge, the blade won't extend far enough because the head of the bolt that holds the chipbreaker to the iron hits the front edge of the recess for it in the frog. I don't know why this is, although the head of this bolt is a little bigger diameter than the original. I'm not sure what to do. (The other issue was that the mouth of the plane was a little too narrow, but that was easy to fix with a file.)
Check whether the position of the adjuster hole in the chipbreakers line up. I expect that they do not. Use the Stanley chipbreaker.

Regards from Perth

Derek
Articles on furniture building, shop made tools and tool reviews at www.inthewoodshop.com
I've no experience but have heard of this issue before.  Question is if LV is selling these as replacements for the Stanley iron/ cap iron combo why on earth would they make them so they didn't fit?  i.e., what were they thinking?  
Confused

Or what am I/ we missing?
If I back off the chipbreaker a little, it works. But not if I set the chipbreaker close. The only thing I can see is that the screw that holds the chipbreaker to the iron has a larger head than on the Stanley, and so it reaches the edge of the recess in the frog a little sooner and prevents the iron from extending. If I could grind down the head of the screw just a little, so it's a little smaller in diameter, it might work. It's odd that that this one little difference should matter so much.
Naive question: Would the screw from the original Stanley chipbreaker fit the Veritas chipbreaker?
"the most important safety feature on any tool is the one between your ears." - Ken Vick

A wish for you all:  May you keep buying green bananas.
Good suggestion, but no, it doesn't.